Joost, an introduction. . .

I am going to try to write most of my blog entries as if I am speaking through my persona. This will help me to further flesh out who I want to be within the society. Ideally I envision becoming this entity at SCA events.

My name is Lord Jodocus van Cleeff, and I am a Frankish nobleman from East Francia. I was born between Utrecht and Uberan Malsna (Upper Geldermalsen), over the border of Friesland and what was known as the Kingdom of Lotharingia, or Middle Francia. I was born in the year 852 AD, and at the time that this is written, I am 32 years old. I am currently living in the Kingdom of AEthelmearc in the Shire of Kings Crossing.

As a child, in the fashion of the Franks, I was first educated by my mother. My mother’s maiden name is Lady Gisela van Friesland. She is a distant descendant of the Frisian King, Radboud. She taught me the history of her family, the Frisians, and the “old ways” prior to the pacification of Friesland by King Charles the Great. When I turned 10, I was sent to St. Salvator in Ultrecht to continue my education. It was at my father’s request as he held firm the ways of Charlemagne and placed emphasis on religious education and the ability to read and write. I did not t wish to be sent away from my family, but as my father told me; “it is the duty of a young lord to be educated and follow the will of Christ”. I lived at the monastery for 3 years learning the ways of Christianity. Once I reached the age of 13 my father sent for my return. My life at the monastery was not easy, and well worth its own dedicated post.

My father’s name was Lord Tescelin van Cleeff. He was a fair lord, and renowned by many. He had a very prestigious military career and was a successful trader. He taught me how best to manage an estate. Our lands primarily consisted of farm land where we grew crops and bred livestock. He also taught me lessons about fighting and warfare. He always believed it was important to protect our people and fight for the honor of our king. He instilled in me a vast sense of loyalty and patriotism that I took with me into a new Kingdom.

When I turned 16, my father was killed during a viking raid. The Danes had been raiding the northern shores of the low country and my father had ridden out with several men to join a local garrison to intercept them. They were taken off guard in route and he was slain in the battle that unfolded. His body was recovered and laid to rest in the family crypt in Utrecht. As his only child, a much noted rarity of those days, I inherited his estate.

At 24 civil war came to Francia. I received the call to muster from Louis III, King of Saxony. I gathered all able bodied men and rallied with the his forces. We were going to war with West Francia. On October 8th of 876, we met King Charles the Bald’s forces at Andernach. They outnumbered us 3:1, but in the end we still emerged victorious. In 879 I once again marched in Louis’ army. This time it was an invasion of West Francia proceeding the death of Louis the Stammerer. We marched as far as Verdun before Louis III and Carloman ceded their claims of Lotharingia. In 880, I fought at the Battle of Thimeon were we routed 5000 Norsemen. Once more in 881, following the Danish sake of Armiens and Corbie, we fought a pitched battle near the hamlet of Saucourt. We laid to rest nearly 8000 vikings that day.

After this battle I decided to visit a foreign land. The Sylvan Kingdom of AEthelmearc laid out before me and I knew I had found my new home. . . To Be Continued

Leave a comment